Plans for Planning

This week has been relatively productive. I managed to finish a few things that I’ve been meaning to get to for a while now.

First up: refashioned panties. A while ago I was helping the fiance’s mother clean out some old clothes from the attic. We both went through them and donated some and stored the rest back in the attic. I was allowed to have free reign over things I wanted to wear or wanted to re-purpose for the fabric. I picked a small pile of things and finally got around to starting the re-purposing. I made 2 different styles of panties (along with the thong from last week) out of a pair of pants that were 100% rayon. The fabric was practically new, aside from some holes in the bottom where it looks like the unlucky owner leaned/sat on something that ripped little holes in it. So it had a lot of potential for undies.

I went with a standard bikini brief cut (slightly more coverage) and a slightly higher cut leg bikini style (slightly less coverage), and black cotton jersey for the lining and a black stretch lace on both.

20525239_10154827803003441_5086254500637153317_n

I haven’t started on any of the other items yet, but I’m still figuring out plans for some of them.

I also managed to bang out a new Grainline Studios Linden shirt. I used a stable knit that is a mystery blend as I got it from a church destash. I’m pretty sure it is some sort of wool blend, based on the feel of it, but I can’t be sure. Anyway, I chose short sleeves because I didn’t have enough fabric for long sleeves, but I actually like the short sleeves on this one. I also didn’t use a neck band or bottom band, but just folded them under and stitched them in place. AND the best part? I lengthened it and made it a high low split hem! I really like how this detail came out.

I sized up on this one to be sure it would fit nicely, since the fabric has little to no stretch. I don’t think I necessarily needed to size up, now that it’s all finished, but I like things a little over sized anyway, so I’m totally fine with how loose fitting it came out.

I have a few more linden sweatshirts planned for the fall. I will also do an in depth review of the pattern in the near future, so stay tuned for that!

After all this sewing for me, I did do a little work for the shop too. I finished an order of one pair of sheer white mesh undies. Nothing too exciting there, but it’s a very popular item in my shop.

20476525_10154836003393441_5655934817615400713_n

The new item for the shop that I hinted at last week? Yeah, I finished that too, and it came out just as I imagined it. It’s made from a beautiful black and purple and pink floral print crepe double knit. It’s a pretty stable knit with some stretch (maybe 10%) but it’s perfect for bras. I also used black power mesh, black scallop lace, and black elastics, straps, and findings. I love it!

I plan to make a whole line that matches that bra, but it’s been stormy out so my blood pressure has been too low to sit at my sewing machine or to stand and cut things out. I’m hoping to get at least a pair of matching underwear finished by next week, if not a couple matching pairs.

I’ve been making good progress on knitting my fiance’s Christmas Sweater (The Drangey Pullover by Stephen West). I’m already finished with the yoke and halfway done with the body! I’ve also started on a child sweater (the flax sweater by tin can knits) for my cousins 6th birthday later this month. I may be a little ambitious with that deadline, but if anything I can give it to him for Christmas.

20597225_10154836094408441_2879756809442685361_n

Other than that I’ve been starting on my plans for my fall capsule wardrobe. It looks like I’ll be making a lot of layering pieces mainly. I have plans for at least 4 cardigans (and maybe 2 different styles of blazers). I’m also hoping to get a few pairs of leggings and pants finished. I desperately need to replace some of my rtw leggings as they’re ready to fall apart from being worn and washed so many times. However, I’m on a fabric buying ban and only using stash fabric due to having student loan debts dumped on me after I was told they were taken care of, as well as saving for my wedding, and wedding dress.

Speaking of my wedding dress, have a mentioned that I’m planning on making it myself from scratch? Yeah, I may be a little crazy, but I’m also very determined. So right now I’m looking at lace and lace appliques online and trying to gauge how much I should set aside for the materials of the dress. I’m also sketching up some of the lace appliques, trying to figure out placement ideas and if they’d work well with other appliques I’ve found. Here’s a little sneak peek of that (I’ve got plenty more started):

20479547_10154836004213441_32894993114486731_n

Have you started on your fall wardrobe plans yet? What’s the “hole” in your fall wardrobe that you’ll need to be making first? Mine is definitely cardigans!

1 thought on “Plans for Planning”

Leave a Reply

