The Start of Preparations and a New Pair of Pants

This week has been more laid back and had more planning than actually doing. Though a lot still got done.

Last weekend, my boyfriend and I went strawberry picking. It’s become a yearly tradition for us. This year we picked just over 6 pounds worth, less than last year, but there were a lot more people there this year! Plus we went a tad later in the season, so there were less to choose from. But we still picked a lot of wonderful and flavorful strawberries. I’ve been looking up recipes to use them up while also snacking on them daily. I love going fruit picking, we are hoping to go blueberry picking next month, or when the boyfriend and I get back from California this month. We missed the blueberry season last year, so we are keen on getting there on time this year.

I’ve finished an order this week, a Harley Quinn bra and underwear set. I have another order cut out, but haven’t sewn it up yet, I’m hoping to get that done tomorrow. I’ve put my shop on vacation mode this week as well. My boyfriend and I leave for our vacation to California on Friday of next week, so I didn’t want any last minute orders coming in that I wouldn’t be able to get done on time.

18951510_10154669648243441_6014121320828744281_n

We will be in California until the 24th or 25th, I forget which day our flight home is at the moment, but I have it written down somewhere. And besides, my boyfriend has all that information and is in charge of making sure we are in the right places at the right times.

I also finished those Sew Over It Mia Jeans from the City Break Capsule Wardrobe Ebook. I used a black ponte roma fabric I purchased from Joann’s a while back. It’s gloriously soft and plush and has just enough stretch for them to be easy and comfortable. I would change a few things on my next pair for a better, more comfortable fit though.

18921930_10154669648113441_2165141209214618981_n

First, the changes I made to the pattern: I graded from a size 8 at the waist, to a size 10 at the hip (both on side seams and center front and back seams) I originally used the size 10 for the legs, but had to take them in, so next time I will grade back down to a size 8 for the legs. Also, the back leg pattern pieces are wider than the front leg pattern pieces, which seemed a little odd to me, but I haven’t made many pants and not any in a while. Next time I’ll narrow the back legs and add a little to the front legs, especially in the knees and just above them in the quads, because right now they pull a little too much when I bend my knee and bag out in the back of the knee. I also shortened the legs by a few inches, so they hit just the right length at the ankle for me, like they are meant to according to the pattern. I may also add a bit to the back rise, as they pull down a bit at the center back.

18952708_10154669647983441_8231059326410195829_n

Overall, I can definitely see myself making many of these. The pattern is great, the instructions are thorough and clear with many pictures, and they are quick and simple to make. There are only 5 pattern pieces, 6 including the pockets (which I skipped). They go together quick and I had these done within a day.

I’ve been working on a few other things as well. A grey bralette that will go in the shop. and I’m working on a new design, a black satin bra/bralette that I’m working out how I want it as I got.

I have been baking this week as well. As I mentioned earlier we picked a bunch of strawberries so I’ve been playing with recipes. My birthday is also on Sunday, so I’ve started prepping desserts for that. My boyfriend, his parents, and his sister and her husband will be celebrating with me on Sunday, we’ve planned a healthy dinner and desserts. I’ve decided on a nectarine and zucchini salad with herb pesto, a fruit and arugula salad (all kinds of fresh and dried fruit, arugula, cucumber, avocado, sunflower seeds, and blueberry or strawberry balsamic dressing), roasted vegetables, and some oven baked fries. For dessert I’m prepping classic strawberry shortcakes (so biscuits, coconut whipped cream, and sliced strawberries), coconut shortbread-strawberry-coconut bars (think homemade twix but with strawberry jam instead of caramel), chocolate chip cookies, and chocolate cookies (either by themselves or for whoopie pies).

I’m pretty excited. I had my boyfriend try the biscuits (which, as all of my recipes are, are gluten free, vegan, and grain free due to my allergies) and he liked them! I was shocked, expecting him to not like them, but he actually said he thought it was a good dough, I didn’t even have to ask him! So that’s very exciting. We’ve tried a lot of recipes and there have been many that don’t pass the boyfriend test and only very few that have. So it’s nice that I can possibly add another recipe to the tried and true pile.

This coming week will be prepping for the trip, packing, and enjoying time with people this weekend. My boyfriend and I will be going out to look at houses tomorrow. So hopefully we like the area because we are very seriously looking into moving there within the next year. It’s a cute little lake town north of where we currently live.

Now to try and pick what to pack and which knitting projects to bring with me for the trip. I have 2 shawls and a pair of socks on the needles right now (along with a sweater that’s kind of on hold at the moment) so I’m not sure which ones I’ll take and which I’ll leave. I also know we will be stopping at a yarn store while in California, so I need to decide if I want to prepare for that as well.

Do you have anything exciting happening in the next couple weeks?

Leave a comment